Cancer Ribbon Guide

Cancer Ribbons

Cancer ribbons are a popular way to bring awareness to the need for research and funding for various types of disease. These ribbons serve as a colorful reminder to support the charity of your choice. Read on for a guide to the different colors of cancer ribbons and what they mean.

– Clear, pearl, or white ribbons bolster lung cancer initiatives. While these ribbons were originally clear to reference air, clear ribbons proved to be difficult to see.

– Pale yellow ribbons are used for bone cancer, specifically a disease known as osteosarcoma.

– Dark blue ribbons are used for colon cancer.

– Orange ribbons are used for leukemia, a form of bone marrow cancer.

– Zebra print ribbons indicate carcinoid and neuroendocrine tumor organizations.

– Light blue ribbons are for adrenocortical carcinoma. Adrenocortical carcinoma is a type of aggressive tumor that begins in the adrenal system.

– Sky blue ribbons support prostate cancer initiatives.

– A teal, blue, and pink paisley patterned ribbon is used for thyroid cancer.

– Jade green ribbons represent liver cancer.

– Lime green ribbons show support for non-Hodgkin lymphoma.

– Purple ribbons typically show that the person wearing it is a cancer survivor. This color is also used for gastric cancer, gynecological (cervical, ovarian, uterine/endometrial, vaginal and vulvar) cancers, testicular cancer, and pancreatic cancer. Specifically, an orchid shade of purple is used for testicular cancer.

– Lavender ribbons are used to raise cancer awareness in general.

– Gray ribbons are used by brain cancer organizations.

– Black ribbons represent melanoma, a form of skin cancer.

– Pink ribbons are best known for breast cancer campaigns, but also indicate abdominal cancer initiatives.

– Green ribbons represent kidney cancer.

– Teal ribbons are used for gynecological cancers in general, particularly cervical cancer and ovarian cancer.

– Violet ribbons are used for Hodgkin’s lymphoma.

– Gold ribbons are used to indicate all types of childhood cancers.

– Burgundy ribbons bolster knowledge about oral cancer.

– Blue and black ribbons are used for ocular melanoma.

– Burgundy and ivory ribbons represent head and neck cancer.

In addition to cancer, colorful ribbons are used worldwide for a variety of initiatives, many of which are designed to raise money and bolster knowledge of the issues at hand.